top of page
  • Writer's picture_pohljosiah_

Concepts In Recent Trends: Whipped Coffee! - 5.26.20


The first lifestyle post on this page!


Happy Tuesday! If you haven’t already and are interested, be sure to check out this week’s photography post. Yuhhh! Get into it!! For anyone that is new to the blog, welcome! This is the first of many lifestyle/trend posts. I will post these occasionally, alongside the photography posts. After all, I aim to look into different concepts and want to provide variety.


(Photo courtesy to FeelGoodFoodie.net)



How did the trend surface? Origins?


So, I am like hella late on this trend to be honest. This was a concept that was much more popular about a month or two ago and surfaced widely on apps such as Tik Tok and Pinterest. I was seeing so many videos of it that I really wanted to try it, especially as I mentioned I am a coffee enthusiast. But I mean whipped coffee?! Who would’ve thought you could turn something as simple as instant coffee, sugar, and water into a whipped mixture to pour into a glass?

I am unsure of the origin, but I am pretty sure this is something that originated with cafes in South Korea?? Again, I need to do my research, but the official name of Whipped Coffee is usually referred to as “Dalgona Coffee.” Once again, somebody correct me on this if I am wrong.



 

Falling into the trend & what is needed to ‘whip’ coffee


This all started in March 2020 when the stay-at-home orders and lockdown began in the U.S. I was stuck at home, so I was bored watching countless videos on YouTube and Tik Tok, instead of focusing on my online schoolwork LOL. When I noticed a trend of this ‘new thing’ is when I saw multiple videos of people giving their thoughts and whisking away in my ‘for you’ page. Let’s face it, we all got pretty bored because most of our lives changed dramatically due to Miss Rona’s world tour. Most reviewers in the videos said that it was tasty and hyped it up, while a very small amount stuck to opinions on typical, regularly brewed beans.


So, as much as I wanted to try it right then and there, I realized that you must do it with instant coffee or Nescafe. Like… it will not work correctly if you use regular coffee grounds because the grounds in the instant coffee are meant to dissolve in a particular way I believe. Of course, we had a stay-at-home order here in Indiana that wouldn’t expire until May 1st (Longest but yet the shortest two-month period of my life) so I refused to make any “non-essential” trips to the grocery store that is 5 minutes from my house. Although the debate is that coffee is actually essential, but that’s a totally different concept and topic I could dive into later on.



 

The Ingredients & My Process


(Photo courtesy to People.com)


So flash forward to today, the same day I am writing this post, is when I finally made a safe and successful trip to the grocery store and I picked up the Nescafe grounds/crystals, picture example below (I am disturbed as to how many people did not have a mask on inside though… yikes).

I get around to actually making it. First off here is what you need and then I will explain how you do this, and just to let y’all know, it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be:

· Nescafe or Instant Coffee grounds/crystals (Should be able to find wherever the coffee products are within your local grocery store. Smaller grocery stores may not have it)

· Sugar (Doesn’t matter if its raw or granulated)

· Water

· Milk of your choosing **This is what you’ll pour the whip onto at the end*** (I personally thought it tasted pretty good with vanilla almond milk)

· A small to medium bowl and whisk for mixing

· A small, medium, or large cup

· Measuring cups/teaspoons

So, next Is basically the same instructions that I found in another blog of somebody else who tried this. They are pretty universal instructions and can be followed in a variety of ways:

1. Take 2 tablespoons of the Nescafe/Instant coffee grounds and pour it into a small or medium-sized bowl. Then you’ll want to add 2 tablespoons of sugar.

2. Next, you’ll want to boil some water in a microwave-safe cup then once it is boiled, carefully remove it from the microwave and measure 2 tablespoons and pour it over the grounds and sugar.

3. Grab your whisk and whisk away! Prob about 5-20 minutes. (This is literally the worst part in my opinion because it can take forever to mix, the sound is annoying and your arm is prob going to get tired if it takes longer to mix, especially if you are off on some of the measurements like I was)

It just takes a little practice ;)


4. Once the mixture comes to a thick, creamy-like texture, feel free to stop whisking and go ahead and pour milk and ice into a glass cup or mason jar.

5. Finally, carefully use the whisk or a spoon to pour the mixture over the milk. Take a picture so you can show everyone how you did on the trend.

6. Lastly, stir the mixture in with the milk. You can’t just drink it like it is in the picture because the mixture alone is strong and likely bitter.



 

Overall Thoughts


I don’t have a picture, but I will be including the process of when I did it in my next video coming up on YouTube. It didn’t look exactly like the pictures of most people who did them. I actually had to whisk it twice because I messed it up the first time, like I said not as easy as it looks so it is okay to feel frustrated if your arm gets tired or you feel annoyed when doing it. The flavors together tasted very java-like but the texture was also nice because it almost felt like I was drinking a cross between a Frappuccino and a regular iced coffee. Overall, I give it a 7/10.

I am going to end this post here because I am actually feeling sleepy and hungry as I am writing this. I hope you continue to stay safe and continue practice social distancing. Please don’t be like the Memorial Day partiers… Oh to see without my eyes -__-

Keep in touch on my other social media pages, tagged In the home page of this site! And as always, see y’all next Tuesday!


- Cut, peace out!

Josiah 😊





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page